I Saw God

That’s the name of one of my favorite songs of all time, from one of my favorite Jazz Bassist’s – Victor Wooten! You can find him all over youtube if you search it! You might especially enjoy the Father’s amazing bass skills in Victor’s take on the song, Amazing Grace.

The song is soooooo full of the Good News of the Gospel of the Adoption of All of Humanity in Jesus Christ, that it needs no elaboration from me. I will simply let you be inspired by, and enjoy, the lyrics, and hopefully view and/or download the song for your Eclectic Gospel Music Arsenal!! Ha-Ha! 🙂

Here are the lyrics:

I saw God the other day
She looked like you
He looked like me

Now I’m gonna tell you a story
And this one you can repeat
I saw God the other day
Just walking down the street
He said “I have something I want to tell you”
“Something I’ve been dying to say”
“You’ve been waiting for My return”
“The Truth, I never went away!””

I don’t care if you believe me at all
I know Who I saw
And it was God!

I said “Hold on just a minute!”
“How do I know it’s really You?”
She gave me a simple answer
She said, “You don’t, unless you do!”
“Wait a minute! I don’t quite understand all this…”
“Tell me, what do You want with me?”
“You see, I’m not a religious type of person.”
He said “You don’t have to be!”

“I don’t know if I’m the right person to talk to…
You know a few of my puzzle pieces are missin'”
And She said, “I speak to everyone.”
“But not everyone chooses to listen!”
“Well then, tell me how to treat my enemies,
I mean the people I despise.”
He said, “The Answer will be clear,
When you see Me in their eyes!”

I don’t care if you believe me at all
I know Who I saw
And it was God
I saw God the other day
She looked like you
He looked like me

Now I spoke to God that day
And you spoke to Him, too
And He told me that of all the miracles ever created
“The grandest one is you!”
Now that you’ve told me all of this
Can you tell me “What am I supposed to do?”
She said, “You may think it’s up to Me,
But it’s really up to you!”

Well now my eyes are open
And I can clearly see
That all the things I paid for in life
I could have gotten for free!
Now I’m going to share with you Her parting words that day
And you might wanna think this through
She said, “If I only have One Son,
Then tell me, Who are you????

I saw God the other day
She looked like you
He looked like me

– Victor Wooten (Palmystery 2008)

By the way, you can view the video here, or listen to the song here!

14 Responses to I Saw God

  1. Clemen says:

    I like parts of it, but I don’t care for his suggesting that God is a “she” or that God walks the street as a person not being Jesus.
    And I don’t think God would look anything like me at all since I am a terrible sinner who deserves eternal punishment, had it not been for the grace of God.
    It is also not wrong but biblical to wait for His return. And some things are actually only up to God and not me.
    I regard these lyrics as being about as humanist as they are Christian, but nonetheless with some good points and ideas.

    • tjbrassell says:

      Hello Clemen! Thanks for your participation on this blog!

      I think I agree with your comments in most respects. In other words, I am not sure that Victor is speaking from a Christian perspective BUT I still saw the “note” of Christianity being sung throughout the song, and that is what was so interesting. The language of the song is reflective of the Gospel, in that Jesus REALLY has become one of us with a fully human nature – John 1:1-14. Jesus also indwells all flesh, including Victor in the Spirit – Acts 2:17. Jesus also said that in the day of the Spirit, we would see that he is in his Father, we are in him, and he is in us – John 14:20! I also agree with you that there is a time coming in which we will be known even as we are fully known. So we get to enjoy the relationship and reality of God’s Humanity NOW, and in the FUTURE! Even if Victor means this song in a twisted way, I believe it is only twisted because he is actually included in our union with God and Christ and not because he isn’t!

      Continued Peace, Love and Blessings to you in Jesus!

  2. victor Gonzalez says:

    hi, i really think that Jesus have changed the victor’s live, he saida biblicals trueths and i know thath Jesus can changed your life too.

    blessings

    • tjbrassell says:

      Thanks Victor! I have been having trouble with e-mail and that is why it has taken so long to respond back to you! Amen to all that you have said! Jesus is not only able to change us all but is intent on doing so, in His grace, until we are completely conformed to His image! Peace and Blessings!

  3. Jesús Javier (Not a joke) says:

    Hi, a realy refreshing way to heard about god!! and I think that this song is not about a religion at all “You see, I’m not a religious type of person.”. I think about the “she” or “he” uses in the song, i think that it is because god is inside every one of us and if you talk to a women, a women she will be too, and if you talk to a man a man he will be too. In fact Jesus show to us that we dont have to search he outside of us, we have to look for he inside of us. it doesnt matter your religion because he helped the daughter of that pagan woman.

    • tjbrassell says:

      Thanks for your comment! You have written properly in the spirit of Jesus’ words in John 14:20 and Acts 2:17, which speak of our being in God the Trinity in the Person of Jesus, and in the Holy Spirit! Yes, His grace created, touches and sustains us all! Peace and Blessings to You this Christmas Season (without all the religiosity!:)

  4. Tripp says:

    Ok I come from a strong Christian background. But I also study theology not just “Christian” Thoeology. Judism (which by the way is 3000 years older than Christianity) states that God is both Man and Woman. The woman gives birth to life as in God gives birth to mankind. The lyric, “You’ve been waiting for My return, The Truth, I never went away!” Which is very Jewish as well, there is no new testament in Judism just one which Chritians would call “The Old Testament.” I would go further but it will just upset many Christians. The original texts were written by various authors sometime after c. A.D. 45, most likely in Koine Greek (according to Greek primacy), the lingua franca of the eastern part of the Roman Empire. Rylands Library Papyrus P52 is generally accepted as the earliest extant record of a canonical New Testament text, which dates somewhere between 117 A.D. and 138 A.D. I would go further, lets just say after 40 years of being a Chritian and studying “The Word”. I have have a different conclusion than most. In time if one studies I mean a comprehensive study and I wasn’t looking for something wrong. I was looking for justification. I was enlightened. But in a way I could not have imagined. I am now Agnostic.

    • tjbrassell says:

      I appreciate you sharing your journey. I can understand how easy it is for each of us to miss the real point behind our theologies or thoughts about God and be turned to agnosticism. Personally, I believe the point of the scriptures for we Christians is that God is a Relational Being of various Persons, Who revealed this Personally in THE Word – Jesus. Ultimately Truth and the Good News is not a set of propositional statements but the Father, Son and Spirit as revealed in Jesus, Who has adopted all of mankind into Their Relationship in Him. Even the scriptures show how we can easily mistake words and history for the Gospel, instead of Jesus Himself!

      John 5:39 39 “You search the scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that testify on my behalf. 40 Yet you refuse to come to me to have life.”

      Peace and Blessings to You in your search for the Truth! He will surely be found of you!

  5. paul says:

    God is here,because of us sinners

  6. Alcohol says:

    I have to admit the song is very good – like most of Victor’s songs. But if we want to examine the song from a theological perspective, will we find some faults. For instance, we won’t find a single place from the Bible that would recognize God as a “female” person even though I don’t think God has a sex. Speaking of Jesus, He was a he of His human nature, but not of his Godly nature.

    Because Victor Wooten is not a Chrisitan (I assume that from many sources), and he is a Ying & Yang believer, is his songs strongly influenced by his beliefs of panteism. Panteism takes the case that there is no single God, rather many gods, in fact, everything is god, thus we come to relogious pluralism: every religion teaches the same thing in the end.

    I’m a Christian myself. I want to take the classical Christian view that Jesus had two natures. And the classical views of God that historical Christianity is teaching and in the end won’t become badly offended by anything like Ying & Yang, rather stands on such a solid foundation that it doesn’t need any more defence then itself.

    To readers who’re interested about the doctorine of Jesus’s two nature’s, I’d recomend the book by Alister McGrath Christian Theology: An Introduction (2001) ISBN 0-631-22528-5 (often used as a seminary textbook)

    And to the end I’d like to say peace || , but I will say, may the Grace, Peace and Godliness of our Saviour and King Jesus Christ be with you.

  7. Thinker says:

    No one has considered the fact that it does not have to go inline with your friend the god of the bible? Limiting it in such a way seems to demean the overall value of the song.

  8. http://dream-analysis.org says:

    Its like you learn my mind! You seem to grasp a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I believe that you simply could do with some % to force the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  9. Chase says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a great job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!

Leave a comment